30 years of Supermarket of the Year: This year the award goes to two Rewe and two Edeka stores

On May 10, Lebensmittel Praxis (Lebensmittel Praxis Verlag, part of the Landwirtschaftsverlag Münster group of companies) and the Burda publishing house presented the „Supermarket of the Year“ award for the 30th time in front of almost 500 guests at Zeche Zollverein in Essen. 12 stores in four categories were in the final round. The jury, which also included the CEOs of Rewe and Edeka, Lionel Soque and Markus Mosa, chose Rewe Schleißheimer Strasse Munich (chain stores up to 2,000 square meters), Rewe Ackerhalle Berlin (chain stores over 2,000 square meters), Edeka Prechtl Brannenburg (independents up to 2,000 square meters of sales area) and E-Center Angerbogen Duisburg (independents over 2,000 square meters of sales area).

In addition to the „Supermarket of the Year“ award, Lebensmittel Praxis and Europe's largest food magazine Meine Familie & ich (BurdaVerlag) honored the „Employee of the Year“ in food retailing. Gina Salzmann, E-Center Warnowpark, Rostock, Michaela Völkel, Rewe-Center Egelsbach and Jan Drewes, Famila-Markt, Kaltenkirchen convinced the jury.

This year, the award winners and nominees have once again impressively demonstrated their strengths, creativity and innovative strength. What they all have in common is that they put the needs of their customers at the center of their work and attach importance to satisfied employees and an excellent working atmosphere. „They are all top, top, top,“ quoted Dr. Ludger Schulze-Pals, Managing Director of Lebensmittel Praxis Verlag, the soccer coach Pep Guardiola in his welcome address at the festive awards ceremony. Those who missed it can get an impression of the markets and the award ceremony on YouTube.

The nominated stores go through an intensive multi-part application and review process. Those shortlisted on the basis of their application are visited and checked incognito on site by the editorial team of Lebensmittel Praxis. At the same time, an independent market research institute gathers consumers' opinions about the stores in question. And in the end, the store managers or owners of the nominated stores have to convince the expert jury in person and live on site. The jury is made up of experts and decision-makers in the food sector, as well as board members and managing directors from Germany's biggest retail companies.

The final of the „Supermarket of the Year“ competition was held for the third time in the Grand Hall of the Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex in Essen. The award ceremony was rounded off in culinary terms by star chefs Sascha Stemberg (Haus Stemberg, Velbert) and Maximilian Müller (Stubn, Frasdorfer Hütte), as well as Meine Familie & ich chef Bastian Trini and his colleague, master confectioner Sigrun Schuppler. Already during the day scarcely 500 guests and 25 exhibitors took part in the informative congress program of the industry meeting humans & markets. The numerous experts and speakers included Lionel Soque (Rewe), Markus Mosa (Edeka), Julia Scheel (Media Market Insights GiK), Prof. Carsten Kortum (Baden-Württemberg Cooperative State University) and Helge-Christian Eilers (SCM/E-Commerce Bünting) as well as Claudia Kleinert, „Wetterfrau“ and TV presenter, and Georg Meck (Focus, Focus Money).

The nominees and award winners at a glance:

Chain stores with up to 2,000 square meters of sales area

  • Rewe, Schleißheimer Str. 137, 80797 München (Winner)
  • Tegut, An der Leimenkaute 3, 36341 Lauterbach
  • Wasgau Frischemarkt, Särkover Straße 62b, 66663 Merzig-Ballern

Chain stores with more than 2,000 square meters of sales area

  • Combi Verbrauchermarkt, Gewerbestraße 13, 26506 Norden
  • Globus Halle, Dieselstraße 47, 06130 Halle/Saale
  • Rewe Ackerhalle, Ackerstraße 23/Invalidenstraße 158, 10115 Berlin (Winner)

Independent stores up to 2,000 sqm selling space

  • Edeka Prechtl, Nussdorfer straße 35, 83058 Brannenburg (Winner)
  • Frischcenter Komp, Julius-Leber-Straße 10, 46485 Wesel
  • Rewe Dreschmann & Ludwig, Hugo-Zade-Weg 4, 4ß764 Langenfeld

Independent stores with more than 2,000 square meters of selling space

  • E-Center Angerbogen, Düsseldorfer Landstraße 361, 47259 Duisburg (Winner)
  • E-Center Schwaig, Diepersdorfer Straße 14, 90571 Schwaig
  • Marktkauf Knödgen, Castroper Straße 124, 45665 Recklinghausen

Employee of the year 2023

  • Gina Salzmann, E-Center Warnowpark, Rostock
  • Michaela Völkel, Rewe-Center Egelsbach
  • Jan Drewes, Famila-Markt, Kaltenkirchen

Further information at www.supermarktdesjahres.de